BCCI nominates Ravichandran Ashwin and Mithali Raj for the Khel Ratna Award 2021

The Board of Management for Cricket in India (BCCI) has nominated Indian spinner Ravichandran Ashwin and Indian Ladies’s Take a look at and ODI skipper Mithali Raj for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award 2021.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is the nation’s highest sporting honour, and solely 4 cricketers- Sachin Tendulkar, MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma– have gotten the coveted award.

Ashwin completed because the main wicket-taker throughout the lately concluded World Take a look at Championship (WTC) cycle 2019-21 with 71 scalps.

Mithali, then again, is the one girls cricketer to have a global profession of greater than 22 years. Solely Tendulkar had an extended profession than Mithali, spanning 22 years and 91 days. She had gained the Arjuna Award in 2003 and was conferred the Padma Shri in 2015.

Apart from, the All India Soccer Federation (AIFF) has really useful footballer Sunil Chhetri’s identify for the Khel Ratna. Odisha authorities has proposed ace sprinter Dutee Chand for a similar award, other than delegating 5 different sportspersons.

The earlier deadline for the Nationwide Sports activities Award was June 21, which was prolonged to June 28 earlier this month.

One other change was included as the necessity for suggestions was waived off, considering the COVID-19 lockdown that imposed restrictions on journey.

In whole, seventy-four recipients have been bestowed with the awards final 12 months, and the prize cash for Khel Ratna was additionally elevated to INR 25 lakhs.

KL Rahul, Jasprit Bumrah and Shikhar Dhawan’s identify can be put ahead for the Arjuna Award as per a report by ANI.

Rahul has amassed 5072 runs in all three codecs, whereas Bumrah has taken 250 wickets to date.

Dhawan, then again, has piled 9965 runs in all three codecs since his debut in 2012.

For up to date cricket information & updates, go to CricketTimes.com.