Brad Hogg picks his taking part in XI from the WTC cycle 2019-21; names Kane Williamson as captain

The World Check Championship (WTC) cycle 2019-2021 ended earlier this month with New Zealand lifting the coveted mace. Over the 2 and a half years, followers noticed spectacular motion from all of the groups and praiseworthy performances that turned the course of the match.

Former Australian spinner Brad Hogg has picked his finest XI based mostly on the present put up by gamers throughout the WTC cycle.

For the opening slot, he selected India’s Rohit Sharma and Dimuth Karunaratne of Sri Lanka.

Apparently, Australian star David Warner, who had scored a triple century throughout the WTC cycle, wasn’t given an opportunity since Karunaratne had proved his mettle by piling runs within the abroad Assessments.

Hogg then chosen New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson and Australia’s Steve Smith. He ignored premier batters like Virat Kohli, Joe Root and Marnus Labuschagne.

Labuschagne’s exclusion got here as a shock since he was the very best run-getter within the WTC cycle. Williamson was topped because the captain of this aspect.

Hogg then nominated Pakistan premier batsman Babar Azam for the quantity 5 spot, whereas England all-rounder Ben Stoke was favoured over others for the quantity six place.

For the wicket-keeping place, Hogg took India’s Rishabh Pant. The 23-year-old had fared extraordinarily properly throughout the Border Gavaskar Trophy 2020/21 when he single-handedly gained the Gabba Check for his aspect. The Roorkee-born scored a vital 40 throughout the second innings of the WTC last.

Notably, Hogg, who was a spinner himself, solely commissioned a solitary tweaker – Indian ace Ravichandran Ashwin. For the unversed, Ashwin ended as the very best wicket-taker throughout the WTC cycle.

The remaining three slots have been taken by Kyle Jamieson, Stuart Broad and Mohammed Shami. Jamieson confirmed a variety of character throughout the finale and was additionally awarded the ‘Participant of the Match’ as he bagged seven scalps. Broad has been the mainstay of the England crew, whereas Shami shocked all together with his swing and posed some tough questions for the New Zealand batters throughout the summit conflict.

Brad Hogg’s WTC Crew of the Event:

Rohit Sharma, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kane Williamson (c), Steve Smith, Babar Azam, Ben Stokes, Rishabh Pant (wk), Kyle Jamieson, Ravichandran Ashwin, Stuart Broad, Mohammed Shami.

For up to date cricket information & updates, go to